Memorial to Mark Levy: Past Chair and Professor of Media and Information and Quello Colleague


August 22nd, 2015

This video records a memorial event for Professor Mark Levy, which was held at the 2015 Meeting of the International Communication Association (ICA) in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Mark Levy Memorial from Quello Center on Vimeo.

Mark served on the faculty of the College of Communication Arts & Sciences at MSU for more than 15 years. He joined MSU in 1999 to Chair the Department of Telecommunication and Information Studies (renamed as the Department of Media and Information) until 2006. The Mark Levy ICT4D Scholarship Fund has been set up to honor his legacy, since the role of the Internet in development was one of this latest foci as a faculty member of the department. To give to this fund, visit

Tags: , , , , , ,

ICA Communication and Technology Awards: Nominate!


Scholars of the Internet and Society

Please take some time to consider this last call for nominations to the Communication and Technology (CAT) Awards Committee for three different awards. CAT is a division of the International Communication Association (ICA):

First, we request nominations for the Frederick Williams Prize for Contributions to the Study of Communication Technology. Send nominations by 2 March 2015.

Secondly, please nominate dissertations to be considered for the Herbert S. Dordick Prize. We will receive nominations sent by 2 March 2015.

Finally, the CAT Awards Committee has been asked to recommend members of CAT to be considered for nomination as ICA Fellows. There is nothing to prevent members nominating individuals on their own, but if you’d like the CAT Awards Committee to consider nominating individuals, please send us your nominations. See:

Thank you for your help. Send any nominations for any of these awards to and indicate the ICA Award in the subject heading.

Many thanks,

Bill Dutton, Quello Center, MSU
Chair of CAT Awards Committee

Members include:

Monica Bulger, Data & Society Research Institute, New York City, and Oxford Internet Institute, Oxford University, UK

Leah Lievrouw, Department of Information Studies, UCLA

Joseph Walther, Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information, NTU, Singapore

Ran Wei, School of Journalism & Mass Communications
University of South Carolina

Simeon Yates, Institute of Cultural Capital, University of Liverpool and Liverpool John Moores University, UK

Tags: , , , , ,