FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION Washington, D.C. 20554

OFFICE OF COMMISSIONER
JAMES H. QUELLO

August 11, 1986

The Honorable John D. Dingell Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce U.S. House of Representatives Rm. 2125, Rayburn HOB Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Dingell,

Without your active leadership, I don't believe the FCC would have adopted some of the more vital provisions of our proposed must carry rules.

As a fellow proponent of reasonable must carry and a balanced communications marketplace, I especially appreciated your active participation.

All broadcasters and particularly, public broadcasters owe you a vote of thanks. Cable operators, too, should appreciate that their long range interests were well served by your participation.

Cordially,

James H. Quello

A copy of this letter was sent to the following:

Thomas Cleary Michigan Assn. of Broadcasters P.O. Box 16015 Lansing, Michigan 48901

Karole White, Executive Director, Michigan Assn. of Broadcasters 1020 Long Blvd, Suite 12 Lansing, Michigan 48910

Dr. Robert Larson, President WTVS 7441 Second Blvd. Detroit, Michigan 48202

Peter Fannon, President,
National Association of
Public Television Stations
Suite 300
21 Dupont Circle, NW
Washington, DC 20036

Bruce Christensen, President, Public Broadcasting Service 1320 Braddock Place Alexandria, VA 22314

Eddie Fritts, President National Assn. of Broadcasters 1771 N Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20036

John Summers, Executive Director-Vice President National Assn. of Broadcasters 1771 N Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20036

Big John: I'm spenking at the MAB annual consention at Sharty Creek August 22nd.

Must-carry in one of the principal topice.

Again, your stamp numprints assured that when my justice provides.

But, Jim.

A copy of this letter was sent to the following:

Thomas Cleary Michigan Assn. of Broadcasters P.O. Box 16015 Lansing, Michigan 48901

Karole White, Executive Director, Michigan Assn. of Broadcasters 1020 Long Blvd., Suite 12 Lansing, Michigan 48910

Dr. Robert Larson, President WTVS 7441 Second Blvd. Detroit, Michigan 48202

Peter Fannon, President, National Association of Public Television Stations Suite 300 21 Dupont Circle, NW Washington, DC 20036

Bruce Christensen, President, Public Broadcasting Service 1320 Braddock Place Alexandria, VA 22314

Eddie Fritts, President National Assn. of Broadcasters 1771 N Street, NW Washington, DC 20036

John Summers
Executive Vice President
National Assn. of Broadcasters
1771 N Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036